SICAB 2017 International Poster Contest

Held annually in Sevilla ( Spain ), the SICAB ( International Equestrian Trade Fair ) will celebrate this year its 27th anniversary. To celebrate this event the organiser has lunched an International Poster Contest seeking high impact advertising.

Concept and technique are free and shall be decided by the artist.

All artwork must be original and unpublished; said artwork shall not have been presented at any other competition and shall not be a copy, whether in full or in part, nor plagiarized of published works, whether that of the artist or other artists.

All artwork shall be presented and mounted on a ridged support measuring at least 1 cm, without protective glass or fame. The format used is up to the artist, but the minimal size shall be 1 meter by 70 centimetres.

There is no entry fee . Eligibility Open worldwide to all artists and designers who are at least 18 years of age, either as an individual or as a team. Prize The following awards have been established:

• 3000 Euro ( approx. 3,410 USD ) for the First Place
• 1000 Euro ( approx. 1,135 USD ) for each of the honourable mentions

The winner shall be announced publicly on September 26, 2016 .

Gå till webbsidan »

Hellerau Photography Award 2017

The Hellerau Photography Award 2017 is open worldwide to analog as well as digital portrait photographs or photographic series dealing with the topic of ” Change ”, and depicting pictures of people in the widest sense, ranging from nude studies to group photographs.

The photographs may be edited, and they should be submitted in digital format for the 1st round.

Entry fee: 20 Euro per photo and 30 Euro per series ( of up to ten photos ). Eligibility Open to anyone worldwide. Prize • 1st prize: 5,000 Euro ( approx. 5,680 USD )
• 2nd prize: wildcard for professional portfolio reviews at the ”Rencontres d’Arles”, France ( July 2017 ) incl. 5-day festival pass, board and lodging, and up to 200 Euro for travel expenses; coaching by the ” shift school for photography dresden ”.
• 3rd prize: 1,000 Euro
• 4th prize: a six-week artist’s residency at HELLERAU Center for the Arts .

Moreover, the best contributions were shown in an exhibition at Festspielhaus Hellerau throughout March 2017 .

Gå till webbsidan »

Design Value Awards 2016

The Design Management Institute is proud to announce the 2016 dmi:Design Value Awards .

The Awards honor teams that have delivered significant value through design or design management practices. The value can be expressed as positive financial gains, social impact, environmental stewardship or organizational culture change.

The dmi:Design Value Awards are distinctive in that they recognize the value of design and design management as a strategic asset: a means to drive innovation, creativity, culture change, agility and revenue. Global organizations of any size will be considered, as each have their own unique set of challenges.

A digital poster must be created in both a horizontal and vertical formats. Combined file size should be no larger than 25MB.

There is an entry fee for members of Design Management Institute and non-members. In addition, a 200 USD late fee applies to applications submitted after July 13 and before July 19 . Eligibility Open worldwide to consultants, government agencies, non-profit organizations, educators and corporations of any size. Prize There will be levels of awards: 1st , 2nd and 3rd prize , and Honorable Mention . At least one person from every organization must be present at the Awards Gala to receive the Award.

Winners of the dmi:Design Value Awards will be recognized at the dmi: Design Leadership Conference in Boston September 25 – 27 and published in the dmi:Review.

Gå till webbsidan »

Trieste Contemporanea Design Contest 2016

The Trieste Contemporanea Committee announces the 12th edition of the International Design Contest Trieste Contemporanea with the aim of showcasing the most original design offerings from the countries of Central Eastern Europe .

The competition is a biennial event that now attracts the interest of designers from 23 European countries, and the ’ CEI Venice Forum for Contemporary Art Curators ’, another biennial event that deals with the topics of cultural promotion and the exchange of curatorial experiences in occasion of the opening of the Venice Biennale .

Main theme of the 2016 edition is ” Waterline ”.

Contestants are asked to make reference to an element/elements of life and work on water which is/are an original and distinctive feature of a place in one of the countries within the purview of the competition, possibly studying a local know-how or exceptional/excellent tradition of that place, and then, using this object of interest as inspiration, to conceive an original item of contemporary design which caters to the latest needs present in the sector.

Each contestant can enter only a single project, unless entering one for the general theme of the competition and a separate one for the Trieste Prize ’s dedicated theme.

There is no entry fee . Eligibility Open to all designers born in CEI countries ( Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine ).

The 2016 edition of the contest has been extended to designers born in Estonia, Germany, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania and Turkey as well. Prize • BEBA Prize – for the youngest designer among those selected: 1000 EUR.
• FVG PRIZE TRUEST Prize – for the best design on the set theme: 1000 EUR.
• CEI Prize 2016 – best design from one of the non-EU CEI countries: 3000 EUR.
• GILLO DORFLES PRIZE / First Prize Trieste Contemporanea 2016 – for the best design 2016: 4000 EUR.

Moreover, the works selected by the panel of judges will be shown in the competition’s final exhibition and published in an online catalogue on the Trieste Contemporanea website.

The awards ceremony will take place in Trieste ( Italy ) at the opening of final exhibition. The winning designers will be invited to travel to Trieste at the organising Committee’s expense in order to collect their prize.

Gå till webbsidan »

18th Annual Pastel 100 Competition

Pastel Journal , America’s leading magazine devoted to pastel artists, has recently opened its 18th Annual Pastel 100 Competition . This international competition offers cash, prizes and publicity to its talented winners.

Entries are accepted in the following categories:

• Landscape & Interior
• Portrait & Figure
• Still Life & Floral
• Animal & Wildlife
• Abstract & Non-Objective

Submitted work must be at least 80% soft pastel . Nupastels and other ”harder” pastels are considered soft pastels. No oil pastel.

Image requirements for entries: JPG files at least 72dpi and smaller than 5MB. All entrants should be prepared to be able to send a print-quality replacement file should their entry be among those selected as a winner. For publication in Pastel Journal , these files should be 300 dpi when saved at approximately 8×10 inches ( 2400×3600 pixels ), ideally, and 5×7 inches ( 1500×2100 pixels ) at minimum.

All early-bird entries – entries submitted before August 1, 2016 – are 25 USD per image. Entries submitted after the early-bird deadline are subject to the regular entry fees of 30 USD per image. Regular deadline is September 6, 2016 . Eligibility Open worldwide to artists aged 16 or older. Prize • First Prize : 5,000 USD cash
• Second Prize : 2,500 USD cash
• Third Prize : assortment of pastels and pastel surfaces ( valued over 2,000 USD )
• Fourth Prize : assortment of pastels and pastel surfaces ( valued over 1,500 USD )
• Fifth Prize : assortment of pastels and pastel surfaces ( valued over 1,000 USD )

Moreover, all top prize winners and place winners will receive features in Pastel Journal ( April 2017 issue ).

Gå till webbsidan »